Alight

Standard

I lit a candle

I watched the flame as I ate

I saw it shiver and stretch before my unintentional breath

So reactive, with only a momentary pause before reflecting the moving air I could not see

I moved the candle

And placed it before a speaker, before a song

I watched the flame have an epileptic fit

As the harp stretched upwards and the base droned downwards

The sharp contrast was too much for the flame to contain

It lengthened, stretched, flickered frenetically

Unable to contain all it was assailed by

Reflecting the air vibration

From a song

A light

Burning

After staring at it intently for several minutes

I scribbled down my mindplay

And the flame was there

I closed my eyes

And the flame was there

It remained in my vision

Amidst the darkness

All I saw was the light

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

