Quiet

Standard

Please be quiet

Quiet enough for me to hear what you are really saying

Because that is all I want to hear.

All the other words

Blocking out what you aren’t saying but actually mean

Everything you refuse to say

As if unsaid words are a threat to your life

And everything you love.

Please stop talking

Unless it’s true

Stop pretending that things are fine

The only thing that is fine is the line you are walking

I won’t walk it too.

Your eyes tell true stories

While your mouth defies logic

And lies to my face

As if I was blind.

Please be quiet

I cannot hear what you are saying

And it’s deafening

I don’t want to walk away

But I need to hear the birds again

For they do not toil for their food

And always find their way home.

 

 

Leave a Reply

